主页 | 格式排版

请问专家:文稿格式排版

另有其他语种版本 English

内容梗概

美国期刊专家AJE团队的格式排版专家来介绍如何根据规定的论文格式指南对文稿的格式进行编辑修改,以便这些文稿投送科学,应用科学和医学期刊。

您的职责是什么?

作为一个学术论文格式方面的专家,我根据规定的论文格式指南对文稿的格式进行编辑修改,以便这些文稿投送科学,应用科学和医学期刊。各期刊的投稿指南不尽相同,很多期刊有非常具体的指导说明。我的职责就是确保稿件遵从这些指导细则,从而让出版社能考虑接受、发表这些研究人员的投稿。

一般而言,作者为什么要关心稿件格式?

期刊编辑对稿件的第一印象极其要紧。文稿的布局,标题和引用文献编排不准确,可隐示研究本身的粗放,从而降低稿件被接受的可能性。经过专业编辑准备的稿件更可能被出版社接受。

您可以在这里了解更多有关AJE的文稿格式编辑服务的信息。

你的工作最困难的地方有哪些?

  1. 参考文献的格式错误,例如期刊要求用“作者-年”的格式,作者却用了编号引用格式。
  2. 列在参考文献中的文献在正文中无引用,或正文中引用的文献,在参考文献中遗漏,或编号不正确。
  3. 参考文献不完整(缺少信息)。
  4. 表格非由Word的表格工具创建。
  5. 文稿杂乱无章,含有不匹配的字体、字号以及无清晰层次的无组织的章节标题 。

针对以上问题,作者如何最好的加以解决?

  1. 作者可以查看期刊的投稿指南,以确定正确的参考文献引用格式。如果尚未选定欲投送的期刊,科技和医学领域的文稿可选用编号格式,人文、商业和社会科学领域的稿件课可选用“作者-年”格式。
  2. 如果未选择用参考文献软件,作者宜仔细检查,确保在正文中引用的文献确实列在所附的参考文献当中;如果使用编号引用格式,要按正确的顺序。作者也可将参考文献的格式问题交给专业的格式编辑去解决。
  3. 最好能通过PubMedGoogle Scholar核实参考文献。这样能确保所有的参考文献信息都准确无误。对于发表在期刊上的文献,应提供作者姓名、文章的标题、期刊名称、卷期号和页码范围。对于书籍,应提供作者姓名、文章的标题、出版社名称和位置。对于书中的章节,除提供上述书籍列举的信息以外,还应包括章节标题 、编者姓名、章节的页码范围。对于会议文集,应提供作者姓名、文章的标题、会议的名称、地址和日期,如果适用,请提供有关出版社的信息或页面范围。
  4. 欲使用Word的表格工具,需具备该工具的使用知识。如果作者不熟悉此工具,最好是由专业的格式编辑来创建/修改表格。作为选择,作者也可以用Excel创建表格,这样格式编辑就能很容易地将Excel表格转换成Word表格。
  5. 通篇宜使用同一字体。每一部分的标题要确保有明确、清晰和一致的层次结构。用分页符而不是段落空行分隔文稿的不同部分。格式处理很好的稿件可使审阅者的工作更为轻松。

为什么作者要关心这些具体问题?

当作者向期刊投递一份格式完美的稿件,能提高稿件进入同行评审和被接受的可能性。作者应始终以其强项示人。如果稿件格式问题重重,作者可能会承担延迟提交进程的风险,因为很多期刊不接受不符合期刊投稿规格的稿件。向一个期刊投递“马虎的”稿件可能隐示研究工作也是一样的马虎草率。

该访谈由Michaela Panter主持。该文于2016年5月6日更新,为读者加进了一些最有帮助的信息。Stef Knauer(格式编辑团队经理)和Erika Kessler(学术论文格式编辑专家)也参与了此访谈。
标签 格式排版 文章锦上添花

最新文章

作者简介 Cheryl Casterline

有任何问题?
欢迎咨询我们的专家

Ask An Expert: Manuscript Formatting

This is the third part of our “Ask An Expert” interview series. In this installment, we spoke with Cheryl Casterline about the top issues in manuscript formatting.

More Languages
This article is available in: English 中文

What is your role?

As an academic formatting specialist, I format research manuscripts according to a defined set of guidelines in preparation for submission to scientific, technical, and medical journals. Journal guidelines vary greatly, and many journals have very specific instructions. My role is to make sure papers adhere to these guidelines, so researchers’ manuscripts can be considered for publication.

Why should authors care about manuscript formatting in general?

The journal editors’ first impression of a manuscript matters greatly. Inaccurate preparation of a manuscript’s layout, headings, and references, can suggest careless execution of the research and therefore makes acceptance less likely. A professionally prepared manuscript makes acceptance more likely.

Learn more about AJE’s manuscript formatting services [here](https://www.aje.com/services/formatting).

What are the top difficulties in your work?

  1. References in the wrong referencing style, such as using numbered references when the journal calls for author-year style.
  2. References in the reference list that are not cited in the text and vice versa or incorrectly numbered citations.
  3. References that are incomplete (missing information).
  4. Tables that are not created with Word’s table function tool.
  5. Manuscripts that are disorganized and contain mismatched font styles and sizes and unstructured section headings that have no clear hierarchy.

How can these issues best be addressed by authors?

  1. Journal guidelines can be checked by the author to determine the correct referencing style. If a journal hasn’t yet been selected, use numbered style for scientific, technical, and medical manuscripts and author-year style for humanities, business, and social science manuscripts.
  2. If an author chooses not to use reference software, s/he can double check to ensure that citations in the text match those in the reference list and that they are in correct order (if numbered). They can also leave reference formatting to be addressed by a professional formatter.
  3. It is best to verify references from sources such as PubMed or Google Scholar. This will ensure that all reference information is accurate. For journal articles, provide the author name(s), title of the work, journal name, volume and issue numbers, and page range. For books, provide the author name(s), title of the work, and publisher name and location. For book chapters, provide the same information as for a book, but also include the chapter title, editor name(s), and page range of the chapter. For conference proceedings, provide the author name(s), title of the work, name, location and date of the conference, and, if applicable, any publisher information or page range.
  4. Use of Word’s table tool requires knowledge of how the tool works. If an author is not familiar with this tool, it is best to have a professional formatter create/modify the table. Alternatively, the author can create the table using Excel, and the formatter can then easily convert the Excel table into a table in Word.
  5. Use one font throughout the manuscript, make sure the section headings have a clear, distinct, and consistent hierarchy, and use page breaks instead of paragraph returns to separate manuscript sections. A well-formatted manuscript makes the reviewer’s job easier.

Why should authors care about these particular issues?

When authors present a well-formatted paper to a journal, it increases the likelihood of peer review and acceptance. Authors should always start out with their best foot forward. If a paper is not formatted well, the author stands the chance of delaying the submission process because many journals will not accept a paper for review unless it meets their guidelines. Presenting a “sloppy” paper to a journal can also suggest carelessness in the research itself.

Interview moderated by Michaela Panter. This article was updated 05/06/2016 to include the most helpful information for our readers. Stef Knauer, Formatting Team Manager, and Erika Kessler, Academic Formatting Specialist, also contributed to this piece.

You can learn more about AJE’s manuscript formatting services here.

Share with your colleagues

Share your work as a preprint and help move science forward

We invite you to share your research with the community by posting it online as a preprint. Our sister company, Research Square, is a trusted preprint platform that lets you get credit for your unpublished research early, increase your citations, and get feedback from the community.

Related Articles

Formatting Your Manuscript

Manuscript Formatting Basics

Manuscript formatting is a crucial step in preparing an article for submission to a journal, and understanding and following journal guidelines are sources of frustration... Read More »

Formatting Your Manuscript

Editing Tip: Choosing the Right Font

Among the many choices you have when writing your paper is the particular font you choose. Microsoft Word defaults to the Calibri font, but that... Read More »

Reference Manager Software: What Is It and What Can It Do?

Formatting Your Manuscript

Reference Manager Software: What Is It and What Can It Do?

If you have ever found yourself struggling to format a bibliography, straining to insert an umlaut in the name of a foreign author, or reformatting... Read More »

Stay up to date

Sign up for early access to AJE Scholar articles, discounts on AJE services, and more