热门类别

主页 | 图表处理服务

请问专家:图表格式

内容梗概

美国期刊专家AJE团队的学术图表专家和大家一起说说修整作者投稿中的图表的那些事儿:如何使作者文稿中的图表既符合所投期刊的规范,又看起来专业。

您的职责是什么?

作为一个学术图表专家,我修整作者投稿中的图表,使作者文稿中的图表既符合所投期刊的规范,又看起来专业。

一般来说作者为什么要关心图表的格式?

在许多领域,评审人和读者最先着眼和判断文稿里的图表,因为图表直接显示一项研究的结果。如果评审人或读者看不懂文稿中的图表, 他们或者就会不相信该研究结果的正确性。因此,在我看来,投稿中最重要的就数图表部分了。

您可以在这里了解更多有关AJE的图表编辑服务的信息。

你的工作最困难的地方是什么?

  1. 对于作者希望图表做成什么样,我们未能得到足够的信息。我们致力于提供作者想要的东西,因此作者提供的指示说明越多越好。

  2. 对作者提供的初始图表,我们不能做更多的改变。如果原图片的分辨率本来就低,我们就没办法提高分辨率。另外,如果图片中含有像素化了的文字,我们也没办法改变。出于职业道德,我们不能改变图片的对比度或色彩。

  3. 只能得到图表和示意图的图片(例如,JPEG,TIFF),而不是基于矢量的文件(例如Excel电子表格)。

  4. 杂志只列出极少数关于图表的规格要求。

针对以上问题,作者如何最好的加以解决?

  1. 作者可以告诉我们这个图表应该是什么样子。我们知道很多人不熟悉绘图软件,如Illustrator和Photoshop 。所以我们让作者给我们送PowerPoint幻灯片,这样我们知道他们要求的图表应该是个什么样子。与此相关的一个问题是,这样一来,图里的东西经过不同版本的PowerPoint程序会移来移去。有的作者在电脑上手绘,然后取它的屏幕截图给我们,这样对我们就特别有帮助。

  2. 我们更希望得到原始数据,比如作者无论用什么程序或软件生成的原始图片。这些图片最好存为高分辨率的TIFF格式,这样我们就可以在后面相应地调整分辨率。如果图片上需要加文字,最理想的是提供我们原始图片以及加上文字的图片。

  3. 作图时,我们更希望得到矢量文件(例如Excel电子表格,EPS文件,PDF文件),因为它们是可编辑的。我们往往能改进非矢量图形的外观,但前提是我们确信能通过追踪,高保真地复制这些图形。尽管我们这样做时异常小心,但为准确起见,我们总是更希望用原始图形。

  4. 缺乏图表规格要求这个问题不需要作者来处理。当一个期刊对于图表的规格要求只有很少的指导信息时,我们通常会向那个期刊询问更具体的准则。在大多数情况下,期刊本身也没有很具体的准则,于是我们就采取业内典型的做法。在这种情况下,如果杂志社对图表不满意,我们将免费为作者做图表的调整。

为什么作者要关心这些具体问题?

作者之所以要关心图表的外观,是因为图表是文稿的关键部分。图表格式专家有能力处理所有这些棘手问题。但是,如果我们手头没有最优的文件资料,我们对图表就只能做那么多。一旦得到我们需要的文件类型,我们就能给作者提供准确而且看起来十分专业的图表,这样出版社就不会直接拒稿。将这些材料在一开始就提交给我们,作者也可以节省时间,因为我们无需向作者发送电子邮件讨要这些材料。这在投稿期限迫近的情况下尤为重要。

访谈由Michaela Panter主持。您可以在这里了解更多有关AJE的图表编辑服务的信息。
标签 图表处理服务 为文章锦上添花

最新文章

热门类别

News, tips, and resources from the academic publishing experts at AJE

Ask an Expert: Figure Formatting

This is the second part of our “Ask an Expert” interview series. In this installment, we speak with figure formatter Stacie Meaux about the top issues in her work.

Also available in: 中文

What is your role?

As an Academic Illustrator, I tweak an author’s figures so that they meet the specifications of the chosen journal and look professional.

Why should authors care about figure formatting in general?

In many fields, the figures of an article are the first aspects that reviewers and readers will look at and judge because they directly display the results of a study. If reviewers or readers cannot understand the figures of an article, it may cause them to not believe in the validity of the results of the study. Therefore, in my opinion, figures are the most important part of a manuscript.

Learn more about AJE's illustration services here.

What are the top difficulties in your work?

  1. Getting very little input about what the author would prefer the figures to look like. We aim to give the author what he/she wants, so the more instruction he/she can provide, the better.

  2. Getting initial images that we cannot do much with. We cannot do anything to change the resolution of a low-resolution image, and there is very little that we can do if there is pixelated text burned into that image. For ethical reasons, we also cannot change the contrast or color of an image.

  3. Getting images (e.g., jpeg, tiff) of graphs or diagrams instead of vector-based files (e.g., Excel spreadsheets).

  4. Very few specifications listed by the journal.

How can these issues best be addressed by authors?

  1. The author can tell us what the figure should look like. We understand that many people are not familiar with programs such as Illustrator and Photoshop. We’ve had some people send us PowerPoint slides showing what the figure should look like. One problem with this is that things can get moved around when moving from one PowerPoint program to another. Other people have hand-drawn the figure and then taken a screen shot of it. This was especially helpful!

  2. We prefer getting primary data, such as the original image that the author gets from whatever program he/she is using to make the image. It is best to save images as high-resolution tiffs; from there, we can adjust the resolution accordingly. If text is needed on the image, sending us the original file as well as one with text is ideal.

  3. We prefer being sent vector objects (e.g., Excel spreadsheets, Eps files, Pdf files) for graphs because they are editable. We are often able to improve the appearance of non-vector graphs, but only if we feel confident that they can be reproduced with high fidelity by tracing. We do this very carefully, but we always prefer to use the native graph for the sake of accuracy.

  4. A lack of specifications isn’t a problem that the author needs to deal with. When a journal gives very few guidelines for figures, we usually ask the journal for more specific guidelines. In most cases, they don’t have those, so we go with what is typically done in the industry. In these cases, we will alter the figure for free if the journal is not happy with it.

Why should authors care about these particular issues?

Authors should care about how their figures look because they are a critical part of the manuscript. Figure formatters are capable of dealing with all of these pain points. However, when we do not get optimal files, we can only do so much with a figure. By sending us the file types that we need, we can give the author an accurate, professional-looking figure that won’t be out-right rejected by the journal. By doing all of this upon the initial submission to us, the author saves time because we won’t have to send an email asking for those files. This is especially important when the submission deadline to the journal is looming.

Interview moderated by Michaela Panter.

You can learn more about AJE’s illustration services here.

Share with your colleagues

Share your work as a preprint and help move science forward

We invite you to share your research with the community by posting it online as a preprint. Our sister company, Research Square, is a trusted preprint platform that lets you get credit for your unpublished research early, increase your citations, and get feedback from the community.

Related Articles

Scientific Data Presentation: a Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words

Figures and Graphs

Scientific Data Presentation: a Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words

Graphs and tables are powerful storytelling tools and are critical components of scientific publications. Learn different ways to present data and things to consider Read More »

Guidelines for Using Figures and Tables in Your Research Manuscript [Free Downloadable Guide Included]

Figures and Graphs

Guidelines for Using Figures and Tables in Your Research Manuscript [Free Downloadable Guide Included]

Learn how to use reproduced and adapted research figures and tables in your manuscript. Read More »

Using Color in Figures [Video]

Figures and Graphs

Using Color in Figures [Video]

Watch our free video to learn how to use colors effectively in your research figures. Read More »

Stay up to date

Sign up for early access to AJE Scholar articles, discounts on AJE services, and more